Right Call? Ace Ncobo Analyses Nedbank Cup Final Penalty


Former FIFA referee Ace Ncobo has analyzed Nedbank’s corruption decision, explaining why the sports official made the right decision.

The Nedbank Cup Final witnessed a controversial moment during added time in the first half. Referee Thando Ndzandzeka awarded a penalty for a handball by Victor Letsoalo, a striker from Sekhukhune.

This incident sparked intense debate among supporters, leaving opinions divided regarding the correctness of the decision. Ace Ncobo, a respected former FIFA referee, has since weighed in on the matter, offering his analysis on why he believes the referee made the right call.

The incident in the Nedbank Cup Final

The handball incident occurred when Thembinkosi Lorch, a player from Orlando Pirates, attempted to drive the ball while Victor Letsoalo lay on the ground. Letsoalo appeared to touch the ball with his hand, leading to the penalty decision. This moment triggered a wave of discussions among fans, with conflicting viewpoints on whether the referee’s decision was justified.

Analysis by former FIFA referee Ace Ncobo

Ace Ncobo, known for his expertise in officiating football matches, shared his insights into the referee’s decision. Ncobo emphasized the importance of reviewing each referee’s decision based on the Laws of the game. In a statement on social media, he stated, “It is a foul if a player deliberately touches the ball with his hand/arm, for example, by moving his hand/arm with the ball. This is always my starting point.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *